Senate Subcommittees

The Classified Senate shall establish both standing (permanent) and, when appropriate, ad hoc (of short duration) committees to assist the Classified Senate in the development and implementation of its mission and goals. All subcommittees are facilitated by a Senate Representative.


Classified Professional of the Year Committee – Coordinates the applications and selection of the Classified Professional of the Year and future scholarship(s) for classified professionals.

  • Patti Brusca, Chair
  • Alex Zuniga
  • Lilia Garcia
  • Caitlin Welch
  • Ruth Jones-Santos


Communications Committee – Coordinates marketing and communications for the Classified Senate, including the website, social media, graphics, and email communications.

  • Ruth Leal, Chair
  • Patti Brusca
  • Kasey Boyer
  • Miguel Castro
  • Rochelle Cook


Community Service Committee – Coordinates community service projects locally, in the region, and globally to provide opportunities for classified professionals to participate and serve.

  • Vacant, Chair


Strategic Planning Committee – Coordinates strategic planning documents, guiding principles, policy and procedures on behalf of the Senate to participate in the college’s strategic plan.

  • Caitlin Welch, Chair
  • Arezoo Marashi


Staff Professional Development Committee – Coordinates the professional development for classified professionals and recommends policy and guiding principles for job skills training.

  • Ruth Leal, Chair
  • Leonard Riley
  • Gilbert DeLeon
  • Sabrina Sepulveda
  • Cristina Rubio
  • Desiree Wagner
  • Daren Koch
  • Alex Spencer


Social Activities Committee – Coordinates Senate events such as Socials, Holiday Parties, Fundraisers, Classified Professional of the Year event, etc.

  • Patricia Gill, Chair
  • Angel Lizardi
  • Charise Allingham
  • Katie Owashi
  • Claudia Figueroa


Shared Governance Committee – Coordinates recommendations for classified participation in college committees and groups, representative responsibilities policy, development of leadership training process and pathway of classified leaders, shared governance principles, and other processes.

  • Leona Crawford, Chair
  • Suzie Schepler
  • Katie Owashi


Workplace Environment Committee – Coordinates development of Workplace Environment Guiding Principles, best practices, etc. to build a family workplace culture.

  • Chris Poole, Chair
  • Justin Czerniak


Subcommittee membership is open to all Norco College Classified Professionals as defined in CSEA Chapter 535 CBA Article 1A, pages 3-9.

If you are interested in joining a subcommittee, please contact the Classified Senate at for information.