Norco College Classified Senate


The Norco College Classified Senate is the collective voice of classified professionals that provides recommendations in the college’s strategic planning process and actively contributes to the integrity, growth, and success of the college.

The Senate’s Four Pillars are:

    • Building a classified community
    • classified recognition
    • shared governance
    • professional development

We will work on inclusive governance for inclusive growth. — Rahul Gandhi



The Norco College Classified Senate, a consortium of classified professionals, is an affiliate of California Schools Employee Association #535 and a permanent employee organization. Its purpose is to participate effectively and contribute to the well-being of the institution and education of its students. The Classified Senate provides a collective voice for the classified professionals in the shared governance process, excluding all areas of Collective Bargaining, in accordance with AB 1725, Title V 51023.5, Education Code 70901.1, and RCCD BP 2510.

Classified Professional

A Classified Professional is a classified service employee in job classifications listed in the CSEA Chapter #535 Collective Bargaining Agreement Article 1A. Classified professionals is the term for the collective body referenced in Ed Code and policy as “classified staff” or “staff.”


The Norco College Classified Senate membership consists of classified professionals as defined excluding management, supervisory, and confidential positions, substitutes, short-term employees, consultants, professional experts, independent contractors and all other positions not designated in CSEA 535 CBA Article 1A, pages 3-9.

Right to Join Organization of Choice

Per the RCCD Personnel Handbook for Classified Employees, Section VIII.200: All classified employees of the District, except confidential and management employees, as defined in the Government Code commencing with Section 3540.1 (SB 160), shall have the right to join organizations of their choice.


Member of the California Community Colleges Classified Senate